The School Year

Our school year closely follows the public school calendar, observing the same holidays, school vacations and, where possible, professional development days. For our returning students, school starts the first Tuesday after Labour Day. However, to allow for a smooth and gradual adaptation to the class environment, new students attend class in a staggered-entry process with two to three new children joining the classroom each day throughout the second week of school. The adaptation period may be shortened or extended as required until the child feels comfortable.

2016-2017 Calendar

Term I 
August 30 – September 1 School Opens – Teacher Administration Days
September 6 (Tuesday) School Starts – Term I begins for returning students only
September 16 (Friday) Welcome Picnic
October 6 (Thursday) Parent Orientation Evening
October 10 (Monday) Thanksgiving Day – No School
October 21 (Friday) Professional Day – No School
November 11 (Friday) Remembrance Day – No School
November TBA Class Observations
November 24 – 25 (Thursday/Friday) Parent Teacher Conferences – No School
December 15 (Thursday) Winter Concert – End of Term I
December 16 (Friday) Teacher Administration Day – No School
December 19 – January 2 Winter Break
Term II  
January 3 (Tuesday) Teacher Administration Day – No School
January 4 (Wednesday) Back to School – Term II
January 17 (Tuesday) Open House at Jericho
January 19 (Thursday) Open House at Sitka
January 27 (Friday) Professional Day – No School
February 13 (Monday) Family Day – No School
March 13 – 24 Spring Break
Term III  
March 27 (Monday) Back to School – Term III
April 12 (Wednesday) Annual General Meeting at Jericho
April 14 (Friday) Good Friday – No School
April 17 (Monday) Easter Monday – No School
May 5 (Friday) Professional Day – No School
May 12 & 19 (Fridays) Parent Teacher Conferences – No School
May 22 (Monday) Victoria Day – No School
June 23 (Friday) Year-end Picnic